Improving the quality of life for women and girls in Waukesha County


Michelle has spent her career as a philanthropic champion for local nonprofit organizations and is particularly passionate about issues impacting women and girls. She has extensive skills in resource development and grant making for health and human services in the community. With a diverse background in donor relations – including workplace giving, major gifts, grants, special events, and volunteer engagement – she is personally committed to providing donors with opportunities to make a difference in their local communities. 

Michelle spent 17 years with United Way in Waukesha County leading donor and volunteer engagement. She served as the organization’s director of investor relations and communications, leading fundraising efforts for United Way’s investments. She also served as the executive director of Safe & Sound Waukesha. Most recently, she was a major gifts director at the Medical College of Wisconsin.

A graduate of Milwaukee’s Cardinal Stritch University, Michelle also earned a certificate in non-profit management at Carroll University. She is an active community volunteer, having served ProHealth Care, Interfaith Senior Programs, Waukesha Hispanic Collaborative, Waukesha Rotary Club, and Waukesha Youth Collaborative, among others.

Read Michelle’s announcement as Executive Director here.

16524 WGF_Michelle_DuBord_075_RT


Michelle DuBord

Executive Director

Sue Juntunen

Executive Assistant



The Board consists of up to 19 trustees who are recommended by the Board of
Trustees of the Women and Girls Fund and approved by the Board of Directors of the Waukesha County Community Foundation. Current board membership is 16 trustees.

The Board elects a Chair, Vice-Chair, Secretary, Treasurer and a Member-at-Large from its membership who serve two-year terms. Election of officers and trustees is held in May with newly appointed members assuming the office July 1st.

Mary McNulty


Kim Preston

Vice Chair
Lake Mills

Sarah Ehrhardt

Denver, CO

Linda Caldart-Olson


Yan Chen


Karen Conrad


Louise Hermsen


Cathy Johnson


Sue Lacy


Tracy Lagona


Ellen Langill


Terri Phillips


Barb Syrjanen


Laquitha (Elle) Terry


Barb Tewes-Berndt


Michele Zgola

New Berlin


The board consists of the following committees, each chaired by a trustee:


The Executive Committee is responsible for personnel issues and any board activity that requires quick action.

Mary McNulty – Waukesha | Chair 
Kim Preston – Lake Mills | Vice Chair 
Sarah Ehrhardt – Denver, CO | Secretary 
Linda Caldart-Olson – Mukwonago
Yan Chen – Brookfield | Member at Large

Fund Development

The Fund Development Committee plans, implements and monitors fundraising activity. This includes identifying potential donors, developing plans to cultivate their interest, soliciting prospects using various methods, and reviewing activity and results. The committee works closely with the marketing committee to build awareness of the Fund.

Louise Hermsen – Delafield | Chair
Cathy Johnson – Delafield
Tracy Josetti – New Berlin
Sue Lacy – Waukesha
Tracy Lagona – Brookfield
Meg Yost – Hartland


The Marketing Committee plans and implements strategies for attracting support to the Women and Girls Fund. This includes promotional materials, events and media relations. Committee members lend expertise and advice to staff for planning and implementation of activities.

Karen Conrad – Sussex | Co-Chair
Michele Zgola – New Berlin | Co-Chair
Claire Beglinger – Waukesha
Jan Nowak – Pewaukee
Genevieve Schmidt – Brookfield
Kimberly VanBeek – Wauwatosa 

Women of Distinction

The Women of Distinction Event Committee is responsible for the successful facilitation of the annual event. It is comprised of various subcommittee Chairs and Vice-Chairs to ensure fundraising and grant award goals are met, and further ensures positive positioning of the Women and Girls Fund to the community.

Karen Conrad – Sussex | Co-Chair
Michele Zgola – New Berlin | Co-Chair
Lynn Bennett

Janet Curtis – Waukesha
Carolyn Hahn – Pewaukee
Tracy Lagona – Brookfield
Barb Syrjanen – Waukesha
Elle Terry – Milwaukee
Barb Tewes-Berndt – Waukesha
Carol Weishar – Brookfield
Amie Williams – Brookfield


The Nominating Committee recommends new trustees to the Women and Girls Fund Board of Trustees. This committee prepares a slate of officers for the Executive Committee, which consists of the Chair, Vice-Chair, Secretary, Treasurer and Member-at-Large. 

Barb Tewes-Berndt – Waukesha | Chair
Linda Caldart-Olson – Mukwonago
Sue Lacy – Waukesha
Mary McNulty – Waukesha
Lynn Revoy – Waukesha
Meg Yost – Hartland


The Grants Committee evaluates requests received from nonprofit organizations seeking support from the Women and Girls Fund unrestricted endowment funds. The Committee determines which proposals and grant amounts to recommend to the WGF Board of Trustees. These recommendations must then be approved by the Waukesha County Community Foundation’s Board of Directors.  

Sarah Ehrhardt – Denver, CO
Sue Lacy – Waukesha
Mary McNulty – Waukesha
Kim Preston – Lake Mills
Elle Terry – Milwaukee